Northwest Athletic Conference NWAC basketball Sports Banner Image. NWAC Slogan: Character, Competition, Community
Shop the NWAC Store

Men's Basketball

Women's Basketball

Basketball News

Men's Tournament Adds Six Teams to the Bracket

Vancouver, WA - Six teams secured postseason spots Wednesday evening. Clackamas, Chemeketa, Lower Columbia, Shoreline, Tacoma and Walla Walla will all head to NWAACC Basketball Championships being held March 6-9 at the Toyota Center in Kennewick, WA.

Chemeketa will be headed to the tournament for the second consecutive year. Head Coach Dave Abderhalden (8th Year) and his Storm are currently tied with Clackamas atop the Southern Region. Led by Tyrone Phillips(18.75 PPG) and Shiloh Rowland (16.45 PPG, 8.30RPG) the Storm will make their 22nd ever appearance. Chemeketa is currently ranked second in the NWAACC Coaches Poll. The Storm have won the NWAACC Championship three times (1989, 1991 and 1999).

Defending champion and third-ranked Clackamas will be returning to the tournament for tenth consecutive year. Coached by Clif Wegner (12th year), the Cougars have won the championship two of the last three years and will enter the 2010 tournament as one of the favorites. Chehalis Tapscott leads the Cougars with 25.59 PPG (2nd in NWAACC) and 12.41 RPG (2nd in NWAACC). Clackamas' Jeff Dorman is seventh in the NWAACC in scoring averaging 20.26 PPG and is second in steals with 64.

Lower Columbia has also secured a spot for the 2010 tournament. After making it to the championship game in 2009 as the fourth-seed from the West, the Red Devils will look to take the next step and claim their third ever NWAACC Championship. Head Coach Jim Roffler (19th Year) will make his seventh consecutive trip to the tournament. The Red Devils are led by Marcus Bell (15.52 PPG, 12.74 RPG, 2.30 BPG) and Jeray Key (14.78 PPG).

The Shoreline Dolphins have really turned things around from their 2008-09 campaign when they finished 0-16, 6-21. Currently two games ahead of Bellevue in the Northern Region, the Dolphins are hoping to secure their first Northern Region championship since the 2001-02 season. Coached by Butch Estes (2nd Year), Shoreline will be making their ninth ever appearance at the tournament and first since 2006. The team is led by Jesse Vaughn (16.40 PPG) and Roshawn West (15.58 PPG). Shoreline's best finish in the NWAACC tournament was third in 1967.

Ranked number one in the last NWAACC Coaches Poll, the Tacoma Titans will head to NWAACC post season play for the second consecutive year. The Titans, coached by Carl Howell (2nd Year, previously coached TCC 1993-2003) will look to improve on last year's performance when they were ousted on the third day of the tournament. The team is led by Darious Walker (14.50 PPG, 7.09 RPG) and Anthony Enriquez (13.68 PPG).

With a win over Spokane Wednesday night, the Walla Walla Warriors secured a berth the NWAACC Championships. Head Coach Jeff Reinland (17th Year) will take the Warriors to their 24th postseason appearance and their first since 2007. Walla Walla is led by Jason Smith (19.18 PPG), Emery Henning (17.68 PPG) and Ben Searle (17.18 PPG).

The NWAACC Basketball Championships will be held March 6-9 at the Toyota Center in Kennewick, WA. For more information about tickets, schedules, merchandise etc, visit the championship page.

stats icon M STATS
stats icon W STATS
folder icon M TEAMS
folder icon W TEAMS

Men's Basketball Alumni
Women Basketball Alumni

Under Armour Basketball Players of the Week
Basketball Championship Web Page

Cybersports Files
Men's Rosters Women's Rosters

Men's Game Files
Women's Game Files

NWAC home