Northwest Athletic Conference NWAC basketball Sports Banner Image. NWAC Slogan: Character, Competition, Community
Shop the NWAC Store

Men's Basketball

Women's Basketball

Basketball News

NWAACC Basketball Coaches of the Year Announced

NWAACC Basketball Coaches of the Year

Clackamas' Clif Wegner Named NWAACC Men's Basketball Coach of the Year
Clackamas men's basketball Head Coach Clif Wegner was voted the NWAACC Men's Basketball Coach of the Year for his team's outstanding season. This is the second time Coach Wegner has been named Coach of the Year by his peers. The Cougars needed double overtime against defending NWAACC Champs Yakima Valley and a single overtime against Lower Columbia to claim the 2009 NWAACC Championship. The Cougars finished the season 29-3 and was ranked #1 for the majority of the season. The 2008-09 season wasn't without hardship for Clackamas. In December, longtime coach with the Cougars, Jim Worden passed away from cancer and the team dedicated the season to Worden.

Lane's Greg Sheley Named NWAACC Women's Basketball Coach of the Year
After winning this year's NWAACC Women's Basketball Championship, Greg Sheley has been voted the 2008-09 Women's Coach of the Year. Sheley won his third NWAACC championship in four years. During his ten years as the Lane Titan coach, Sheley has accumulated a 243-73 record. The 2008-09 season marks his eighth straight season with 20 wins or more. After finishing second in the South Region, the Titans rolled through the NWAACC Tournament. This year is Sheley's third time being named NWAACC Coach of the Year.

Coach Wegner and Coach Sheley will be formally honored at the 2009 Hall of Fame Banquet being held in Pasco, WA May 28.

stats icon M STATS
stats icon W STATS
folder icon M TEAMS
folder icon W TEAMS

Men's Basketball Alumni
Women Basketball Alumni

Under Armour Basketball Players of the Week
Basketball Championship Web Page

Cybersports Files
Men's Rosters Women's Rosters

Men's Game Files
Women's Game Files

NWAC home