Northwest Athletic Conference NWAC basketball Sports Banner Image. NWAC Slogan: Character, Competition, Community
Shop the NWAC Store

Men's Basketball

Women's Basketball

Basketball News

2013 NWAACC Basketball Post-Season Athletic and Academic Awards

Baden Basketball Players of the Year

20121113-IMG_2505(1)Jennifer Johnson of Clackamas Community College and Trevor Phillips of Chemeketa Community College have been named the Baden Basketball Players of the Year.

Johnson was a standout throughout the season averaging 15 points, 4 assists and 4 rebounds per game. She led her team to an overall record of 26-5 and 13-1 in region and Clackamas’ third Southern Region title in four years.

Johnson and the Cougars then battled their way through the NWAACC Championship Tournament, reaching the title game where they fell two points short of CCC’s second NWAACC women's basketball championship.

“I am very thankful and appreciative of all the people in my life who have helped me achieve this: teammates, coaching staff, my family and much more. It is an amazing feeling and something I will always cherish,” says Johnson.

Clackamas co-head women’s basketball coach Jim Martineau shares, “Jenny was a pleasure to have in our program the last two years. She is a terrific person and great student-athlete. She has been a great leader for our team, athletic department and our college.”

Johnson has not yet committed to a school for next year but is looking to continue her basketball and academic career. She is currently looking at New Mexico Highlands University, University of Hawaii at Hilo and Azusa Pacific University. Johnson is looking to major in pharmaceuticals or physical therapy.

As she reflects on her career at Clackamas she knows she made the right choice, “Without coming to Clackamas, I wouldn’t have had the opportunity to play at a Division II school. My experiences in the NWAACC have helped me mature and become a better player.”


Trevor Phillips brought extreme passion to the Chemeketa Storm this year leading his team all the way to the NWAACC Title. Phillips feels humbled by the Baden Player of the Year Award stating, “it is an extreme honor.”

The Storm clinched the Southern Region Title and the school’s fourth NWAAACC championship with a region record of 10-4 and overall record of 21-8. Philips led the team by averaging 17 points, 7 rebounds and a block per game.

“Trevor’s energy, skills, and competitive fire were a critical component to our success this season,” said Chemeketa head coach David Abderhalden.

Much like Johnson, Phillips feels that he would not be where he is today without his experience in the NWAACC. Phillips states, “Chemeketa has been amazing to me in my academic and basketball journey. I have grown as a person and as a player where I do not think I would have made the same advances playing at a University right out of high school. The atmosphere at a community college is one like a family; everyone is there for your best interest and only wants you to succeed in whatever life path you choose.”

Next year Phillips will be playing for Eastern Oregon University. He will be pursuing a degree in Fire Service Administration.

Basketball Coaches of the Year

The 2013 NWAACC Women’s Basketball Coach of the Year is Greg Sheley of Lane College. In his 14th year as the head coach of the Titans, Sheley led his #2-ranked Titans to a two point victory over top-ranked Clackamas in the NWAACC Championship game. The championship hardware represents Sheley’s 4th as Lane’s skipper. He has also collected 6 Southern Region titles during his tenure at Lane.

Chemeketa CC 11th year head coach David Abderhalden is the 2013 NWAACC Men’s Basketball Coach of the Year. Abderhalden’s Storm won a nail-biting championship game this year over an arguably favored Edmonds CC squad to secure Chemeketa’s 4th NWAACC title in school history and Abderhalden’s second to go along with his 4 region titles.

Academic Awards

Basketball All-Academic Team
The 2013 Basketball All-Academic Team includes an outstanding group of student-athletes. There were 23 men and 51 women athletes that were honored for their exceptional work in the classroom. Each of these individuals maintained sophomore eligibility, earned a minimum of 36 credits, held a minimum 3.25 cumulative GPA and received a recommendation by their colleges all while adhering to team rules and demanding athletic schedules. To see a list of the honorees please go to the following links.

Men’s Basketball All-Academic Team

Women’s Basketball All-Academic Team

Basketball Academic Leadership
A total of 26 basketball athletes also garnered Academic Leadership awards this past winter. To qualify for this top academic award an athlete must be a second year athletic participant, have earned 60 + credits, hold a 3.50+ cumulative GPA and be involved in campus/community activities.

Winter Academic Leadership Award Winners

stats icon M STATS
stats icon W STATS
folder icon M TEAMS
folder icon W TEAMS

Men's Basketball Alumni
Women Basketball Alumni

Under Armour Basketball Players of the Week
Basketball Championship Web Page

Cybersports Files
Men's Rosters Women's Rosters

Men's Game Files
Women's Game Files

NWAC home