Northwest Athletic Conference NWAC track Sports Banner Image. NWAC Slogan: Character, Competition, Community

NWAC Hall of Fame

NWAC Hall of Fame banner
photo of Columbia Basin College 1978 Football Team

1978 Football Team

Columbia Basin College
Class of 2012

The 1978 Columbia Basin College football team gave CBC its only national championship in school history. The Hawks went 10-0 and were voted the top junior college football team in the nation by the two national publications. The 1978 football team was coached by Dick Zornes and featured four All-Americans, running back Tom Ramberg, defensive back Mark Kafentzis, offensive lineman John Little, and defensive end Dave Schneider. 17 players off the 78 team earned division one scholarships and three played in the National Football League including, Kafetnzis (Baltimore Colts); tight end Clint Didier (Washington Redskins including three super bowl rings); tight end Smiley Cresswell (New England Patriots). Little, after a career at Washington State was drafted by the Dallas Cowboys but elected not to play. The Hawks defense allowed an average of 160 yards per game and gave up just 43 points in 10 games.

Previous Page | Return NWAC Hall of Fame Members