Northwest Athletic Conference NWAC track Sports Banner Image. NWAC Slogan: Character, Competition, Community

NWAC Hall of Fame

NWAC Hall of Fame banner
photo of Community Colleges of Spokane 1968 Football Team

1968 Football Team

Community Colleges of Spokane
Class of 2012

The 1968-69 SCC (later became Spokane Falls CC) football team won the WAACC league championship with an undefeated 8-0 record under the leadership of Head Coach Dwight Pool (d). It was only the second year of football at Spokane as the program had just started in 1967. Coach Pool was assisted by coaches Tom Rassley (d), Mike Macaulay, Les Rurey and the team manager was Mike Mahoney. The 1968 Spartans were ranked sixth in the nation at the end of the year by the JC Grid-Wire magazine. They started their season by shutting out Grays Harbor 13-0 and followed that by thrashing Wenatchee 27-2. The Spartans sandwiched in close wins over Everett and CBC with big wins over Olympic and Grays Harbor. They ended their season by beating Yakima 28-0 in the league championship game after a close win over Shoreline 13-7.

Ken Staninger was named Captain, Joe Jakubiak and Jim Gourley were selected as Most Inspirational, and Tim Reese was named the Defensive Player of the Year for the Spartans. SFCC had four players named to the WAACC All-Star Offensive First Team; Read Drexel (E), Rick Larsen (C), Ken Staninger (QB), and Roger Kuula (FB). They had three players picked for the WACC Defensive First Team; Tim Reese (T), Eric Dahl (DB), and Jim Gourley (DB). In addition four players were also selected to the WAACC All-Conference Second Team; Dick Gagnon (E), Ted Powell (DL), Dave Juarez (DB), and Ray Hare (OL). Honorable Mention went to: Dave Schmedding (OL), Don McDonald (OL), John Busch (FB), Don Rosselet (HB), Dave Reil (HB), Joe Jakubiak (DB), Ernie Lewis (DL), and Fred Hare (d) (LB).

Rick Larsen (C) and Tim Reese (T) have also been selected for the NWAACC Hall of Fame in the individual athlete category. Read Drexel (OE), Rick Larsen (C), Ray Hare (OT), Ken Staninger (QB), Tim Reese (DT), Roger Kuula (FB), Fred Hare (d) (LB), Larry Frank (OE), Eric Dahl (DB) and Jim Gourley (DB) have all been elected to the Community College of Spokane Football Hall of Fame as individual athletes.

The team roster included: Doug Allinger (G), Ray Balzarini (C-G), John Barklay (B), Steve Bertelsen (E), Jerry Bock (T), Doug Borst (HB), Bob Bourgette (LG), Bob Buckley (HB), John Busch (FB), Rex Butler (HB), John Clift (E), Jim Coyne (RG), Tom Cropp (QB), Eric Dahl (S), Jerry Deaver (HB), Read Drexel (E), Rod Fiddick (HB), Larry Frank (E), Dick Gagnon (E), Jim Gourley (HB), Fred Hare (d)(LB), Ray Hare (LT), Joe Jakubiak (LE), Dan Jones (E), Dave Juarez (HB), Roger Kuula (FB), Ned Landt (RT), Rick Larsen (C), Ron Lehnerz (FB), Bob Leichner (E), Alton Leisle (HB), Ernie Lewis (T), Greg Lindsey (QB), David Linerud (d) (T), Buddy Los Banos (QB), Howard (Ivar) Luhr (G), Don McDonald (RG), Jim Mossman (LB), Pat Murphy (d) (G), Jim Nichols (E), Dale Phillips (HB), Ted Powell (LG), Terry Pugh (T), Tim Reese (T), Dave Reil (RH), Jim Rew (C), Dan Robbins (HB), Don Rosselet (LH), Dave Schmedding (T), Tom Schultz (C), Dick Shaw (d) (LB), Steve Smitherman (E), Ken Staninger (QB), Stan Strecker (G), Kelly Strother (QB), Lou Strum (T), Dan Wakely (QB), and Larry Wright (E).

Previous Page | Return NWAC Hall of Fame Members