Northwest Athletic Conference NWAC track Sports Banner Image. NWAC Slogan: Character, Competition, Community

NWAC Hall of Fame

NWAC Hall of Fame banner
photo of Linn-Benton Community College 1971 Men's Baseball

1971 Men's Baseball

Linn-Benton Community College
Class of 2011

1971 marked the first year that the Roadrunners had a baseball team that competed in intercollegiate athletics. The team was coached by Dick McClain (who later became the Executive Director of the NWAACC) and consisted of just 17 players. Linn-Benton won more than 30 games on their way to claiming the Southern Division Oregon Community College Athletic Association (OCCAA) League title.

The team had several All-League players including Terry Cornutt, Ethan Bergman, Dennis Coon, Tim Faville and Tim Labrouse. Cornutt led the league in batting averaging .519 leading the LBCC to an 11-1 record.

The 1971 LBCC baseball team is the only team to win a OCCAA championship in their first year.

Previous Page | Return NWAC Hall of Fame Members