Northwest Athletic Conference NWAC track Sports Banner Image. NWAC Slogan: Character, Competition, Community

NWAC Hall of Fame

NWAC Hall of Fame banner
photo of Skagit Valley College 1988 Women's Basketball Team

1988 Women's Basketball Team

Skagit Valley College
Class of 2007

The Cardinals won the first conference women’s title in school history with a 24-6 season. SVC, the highest scoring team in the NWAACC (79 points a game) opened the 1988 conference tournament with a 74-71 overtime win against Clackamas, then beat defending champion Green River 76-63 in the semifinals. Then SVC went up against division rival Highline who beat them in three previous meetings. In a game where neither team led by more than six points, the Cardinals held off the Thunderbirds 76-72 to win the NWAACC championship. It was the first title for SVC who also won it all in 1994, 1996 and 1998. Steve Epperson has been the only women’s basketball coach in SVC history, helping to start the program in the 1970s. Tina Bumgarner was the tournament MVP and later returned to SVC as head volleyball coach.

Team members: Head Coach Steve Epperson, Assistant Coaches Betsy Benson and Julie Walker, Tina Barker, Julie Benson, Tina Bumgarner, Jill Fetrow, Chantel Keeley, Heather Klungel, Heidi Klungel, Linda Lorentzen, Jan Robinson, and Monica Rooney.

Previous Page | Return NWAC Hall of Fame Members