Northwest Athletic Conference NWAC soccer Sports Banner Image. NWAC Slogan: Character, Competition, Community

NWAC Hall of Fame

NWAC Hall of Fame banner
photo of Lane Community College 1979 & 1980 Women's Cross Country Teams

1979 & 1980 Women's Cross Country Teams

Lane Community College
Class of 2002

The Titans won four straight Oregon Community College Athletic Association titles beginning with the 1979 team. Back then, the OCCAA were members of the National Junior College Athletic Association. After winning the OCCAA title and the Region 18 championship, both teams went on to win the NJCAA National Championship. Lane previously had sent men's cross country teams to the NJCAA finals during the 70's, but the 79 and 80 women's squads are the only back-to-back national championship teams in Lane Community College history.

1979 Team members: Sandy Dickerson, Cheryl Glasser, Eeva Vedenoja-Gray, Trudi Kessler, Debbie Knapp, Anne O'Leary-Morter, Nadine Lindsay-Powell, Katie Swanson, Assistant Coach Lyndell Wilkin, Head Coach Mike Manley

1980 team members: JoAnne Ahern-Berning, Sandy Dickerson, Chris Fox, Debbie Knapp, Mimi Carlo-McCaslin, Anne O'Leary-Morter, Martha Robinson-Swatt, Laurie Moran-Wilde, Assistant Coach Lyndell Wilken, Head Coach Mike Manley.

Previous Page | Return NWAC Hall of Fame Members