Northwest Athletic Conference NWAC tennis Sports Banner Image. NWAC Slogan: Character, Competition, Community

NWAC Hall of Fame

NWAC Hall of Fame banner
photo of Community Colleges of Spokane 1974 Men's Track and Field

1974 Men's Track and Field

Community Colleges of Spokane
Class of 2009

The 1974 SCC Track and field team was one of the best, if not the best, men’s track teams in NWAACC history. The 1974 team won 12 individual events and scored 200 points in more than doubling the second place team.

They won the NWAACC Track and Field Championship for the second consecutive year for Head Coach John Buck whose teams went on to win 11 championships in a row.

The individual event winners were: Chris Braithwaite in the 100 (9.2r) and 220 (21.3), Reggie Brown in the 440 (48.7, Kurt Beckman in the 3 mile (13:48.4), Syd Lofton in the 120 HH (14.6) and 440 IM (55.3), Ray Hansen in the discus (158’8”), Howard Banks in the shot (51’9”), Steve Tripp in the javelin (211’1”), Ken Wenman in the pole vault (15’9”r), Keith Morgan, Ken Wenman, Gary Carew and Chris Braithwaite in the 440Relay (41.7), and Keith Morgan, John Klaus, Jim Williamson and Reggie Brown in the mile relay (3:16.1).

This team had 14 athletes go on to four-year colleges and universities and had three athletes qualify for their Olympic teams; Chris Braithwaite and Gary Carew (Trinidad) in the 100 and Ken Wenman (Canada) in the pole vault.

Greg Alley, Drew Auclair, Pat Clifton, Ashwin Creed, Keith Cronrath, Denzil Davis, Robert Gauthier, Bryan Geissler, Greg Gustafson, Jim Hennessy, Ken Henry, Hugh Huck, Bill Hunt, Paul Keiper, Steve Kirk, Kevin Litwiller, Don Martin, Greg Mitchell, Tom McDowell, Claude Neuenschander, Fred Nyberg, Randy Rolph, Clayton Walkes, Rick Wittaker and Steve Wilson were all outstanding track and field athletes who competed on this championship team.

This team beat Division 1 colleges and universities at invitational meets on a regular basis and never lost to any two-year colleges.

Previous Page | Return NWAC Hall of Fame Members