Northwest Athletic Conference NWAC volleyball Sports Banner Image. NWAC Slogan: Character, Competition, Community

NWAC Hall of Fame

NWAC Hall of Fame banner
photo of Community Colleges of Spokane 1988 Softball Team

1988 Softball Team

Community Colleges of Spokane
Class of 2009

This team won the NWAACC Softball Championship under the leadership of Head Coach Jerry Skaife who was named the 1988 NWAACC Coach of the Year. The 1988 team was 27-1 in league play in winning their region and 36-3 for the season.

Ladonna Boyd was Spokane’s MVP for her pitching performance in the NWAACC Championship tournament and had a 22-2 season record. Another outstanding player was Kristi Kuntz who was the hitting star that year with 38 RBI’s and was named to the NWAACC All-Tournament First Team. Renee Demelo was the other pitching standout with a 15-1 record and a .55 ERA.

Elaina Bohlman was voted the MVP of the NWAACC Northern Region as she led the team with six stolen bases and had a .407 batting average for the year. Crystal Benson, Gina Cacchiotti, Denise Kelly and Kristi Kuntz were all named to the NWAACC All-Tournament team at the end of the championship run by Spokane.

Rosanna Bostrom, Kathey Davis, Tanya DeGeest, Mary Giannandrea, Teresa Hansen, Shannon Horn, Kim Staggs and Kris Wells were all outstanding softball athletes who also competed on this championship team.

Previous Page | Return NWAC Hall of Fame Members