Northwest Athletic Conference NWAC volleyball Sports Banner Image. NWAC Slogan: Character, Competition, Community

NWAC Hall of Fame

NWAC Hall of Fame banner
photo of Lower Columbia College 1991 Volleyball

1991 Volleyball

Lower Columbia College
Class of 2014

The 1991 Lower Columbia College volleyball team is not remembered for its incredible size or imposing strength. But they are remembered as talented, smart, and relentless. And NWAACC Champions.

A team with quickness, intelligence and athletic skill, the 1991 Red Devils went 53-4 on the season and captured the school’s first ever NWAACC Volleyball championship, defeating Mt. Hood for the title on Saturday November 23rd on the Saints home court. Setter Marcy Watkins was named the tourney MVP and she was joined on the All-Tournament team by Peggy Adams and Jennifer Godinho. Amy Ness was named to the second team. Head coach Jocelyn Price was named co-head coach of the year.

During the Devils magical run in 1991, the team went 11-1 to win the West Region title, won the LCC Cross Over and Shoreline Cross Over and also took the LCC Pre-Season tournament.

The team included Monica Dailey, Alida Engblom, Stacey Doumit, Beth De Vries, Godinho, Watkins, Adams, Stephanie Patterson, Toni Pascua and Ness. Price counted on assistant coach Bill Tuggle to provide a very active role in helping her guide the Red Devils. Price went on to much success as the Red Devils coach for 19 seasons. She was also a leader in the NWAACC volleyball sports committee.

Adams went on to stardom at Portland State and Watkins was a key player at Central Washington University. Many of the other teammates went on to coaching roles. Watkins, as Marcy Gilchrist went on to coach the LCC team for six seasons.

Lower Columbia has been a solid program in the history of NWAACC volleyball, but only one Red Devil team can claim a championship. The 1991 Devils can now claim their place in the NWAACC Hall of Fame.

Previous Page | Return NWAC Hall of Fame Members