Northwest Athletic Conference NWAC xcountry Sports Banner Image. NWAC Slogan: Character, Competition, Community

NWAC Hall of Fame

NWAC Hall of Fame banner
photo of Wenatchee Valley College 1983 Football

1983 Football

Wenatchee Valley College
Class of 2015

The 1983 Wenatchee Valley Football team received numerous honors including NWAACC Team of the Year 1983 and earning a #2 ranking in the in Final NJCAA National Football poll while compiling a 9-0-1 record. Head coach Sandy Cooprider was named the NWAACC Coach of the Year.

The team also was honored at the 1984 North Central Washington Sports Awards as Team of the Year while Cooprider was named Coach of the Year. The team had 12 first team All – NWAACC offensive and defensive selections, 7 second team All-NWAACC offensive and defensive selections.

Earning NJCAA All-American honors were linebacker Malcom Townsend, offensive tackle Pat Kerns and defensive back Bruce Nakamura.

In one game , Townsend had 20 tackles and two fumble recoveries and two interceptions for touchdowns. He was ranked second in the nation as an inside Linebacker. Nakamura recorded 12 interceptions in his two seasons at WVC.

Linebacker Johnny Taylor went on to play for the New Orleans Saints, Atlanta Falcons and the San Diego Chargers.

Of the 20 Sophomores on the 1983 team, 18 went on to play at four year Universities – 6 on full scholarships.

Coaches: Head Coach: Sandy Cooprider, Assistant Coaches: Gene Baker, Defensive Coordinator, John Murio, Offensive Coordinator, Brent Whitaker, Wide receivers, kicking game

Team Members: Robert Abbott, John Ely, Russell Keithley, Peturika Pedro, Jay Adams, Andrew Erickson, Ed Kennedy, William Petty, Greg Bailey, Brian Fitzjarrald, Scott Kenoyer, Pat Pringle, Eric Barden, Tom Fohn, Pat Kerns, Alec Pugh, Paul Beyers, William Froden, Tony Kristopaitis, Gary Saurdiff, Randy Bostrom, Alvin Gaddy, Jim Larsen, Oren Searles, Michael Bowie, Reggie Garigan, Shawn Leonard, Jay Schweigert, Raymond Burt, Terry Gilchrist, Steve Lockhart, Rick Skelly, Randy Carter, Tracy Goff, Daniel Martin, Marty Stepan, Roger Coffman, John Gradwohl, Michael Martin, Eric Stollwerck, Bob Coleman, Greg Guise, Brian Martinson, Mike Strutzel, Brant Compton, Kurt Hagemann, Zack Morgan, Greg Tonge, Daniel Cordell, Tristan Harlington, Bruce Nakamura, Michael Torresan, Ron Crick, Don Hoffman, Ron Nelson, Malcolm Townsend, Timothy Davis, Mark Houk, Paul Nua, Carl Tweten, Roy DeloSantos, Dave Jackson, Mark O’Bryan, Tim Vessey, Claude Edge, Paul Jensen, Richard Otto, John Witte, Nathan Wood

Previous Page | Return NWAC Hall of Fame Members