Northwest Athletic Conference NWAC track Sports Banner Image. NWAC Slogan: Character, Competition, Community

NWAC Hall of Fame

NWAC Hall of Fame banner
photo of Walla Walla Community College 1986 Football

1986 Football

Walla Walla Community College
Class of 2015

The Walla Walla Community College 1986 Football team recorded an impressive 9-0 season record and won the NWAACC Championship in doing so. During the NWAACC regular season the Warriors went 8-0, won the NWAACC Championship, and finished the season ranked number one in the nation in one of the major Junior College National Polls and no lower than third in two others.

Mike Levens served as the team’s Defensive Coordinator that year and the Warrior defense was ranked the top defensive team in the country – giving up a total of 223 rushing yards for the entire season. Also, no less than ten players on the Warrior defense that year were selected to the First Team All NWAACC Defensive Team. As a result of injuries during the 1986 season the Warriors used three quarterbacks during the campaign, but none of that made a difference as all three guys were able to step in and keep the offense rolling. The 1986 Warriors were invited to play in California for the Junior College National Championship but the game was cancelled as Walla Walla was not a member NJCAA school. Head Coach John Volek received numerous awards and last year was inducted into the National Alliance of Two Year College Athletic Administrator’s Hall of Fame.

Coaches: Head Coach: John (Big Cat) Volek, Assistants: Don Boen, Tom Buchkoski, , Steve Kizer, Mike Levens, Randy Mastin, Bruce Pielstick and John Rothstrom

Team Members: Rick Allender, Keith Dupuis, Jay Judy, Hateni Pulu, Andy Altinger, Larry Durk, Brian Knerr, Scott Rahn, Troy Anderson, Ronald Eastman, Kyle Lindley, Charles Roggow, Greg Baker, John Egan, Jr., David Linke, Robert Rothstrom, Will Bedke, Roger Eyraud, Dave Loonam, Oscar Santana, Rich Belanger, Craig Fahner, Doug Lux, Mike Sims, Chris Bonner, Ty Fischer, Tom MacKenzie, Andy Slaybaugh, Jim Booth, Pat Francis, Rick Mathews, Shon Small, Lindsay Bosch, Trey Friauf, Jeff Meyers, Bill Smasne, Jim Bronec, Elijah George, Pat Miller, Chris Sperber, Trevor Brotherton, Anthony Gorrebeeck, Thomas Mills, Scott Stuart, Larry Brown, Eric Granberg, Ed Montgomery, James Suhay, David Buchanon, Anthony Griffin, Lon Moore, Bob Turner, Brian Carlin, Troy Grimes, Michael Morgan, Jerry Vanderpool, Robert Chambers, Randy Groves, Henry Mullian III, Keith Walker, Leslie Cooper, Greg Gustin, Troy Munday, Todd Williams, Marcus Cooper, Jeff Hale, Brent Napierkowski, James Wilson, Brian Cordray, Bunch Haney, Jeff Norman, Rick Wilson, Andre Corr, Troy Haplin, Les Packard, Tim Winter, Mark Cortney, Jeff Hardy, Jim Pantner, Pat Wolcott, Jay Covington, Chris Harlowe, Mike Patterson, Scott Wolfe, Troy Daly, Chris Helfer, Jim Peitersen, Paul Woodcock, Cary Dean, Don Holbrook, John Perez, Will Wright, Kevin Dixon, Kevin Huxoll, Walter Perry, John Wunderlich, Terry Duffield, Marc Yonts

Previous Page | Return NWAC Hall of Fame Members